Users & User Groups

Users

Overview

The Users page displays a list of all users. From the users page: Create, Edit, and Delete users. The list of users displayed on this page displays Account, Name, Username, Email, and Role.

Note

Some User data from Users created via an Identity Source Integration such as Active Directory is not editable in Morpheus, as it is synced with the Identity Source.

Create User

Users can be created from Administration -> Users or Administration -> Tenants -> Select a Tenant -> Users tab.

Note

Authorized Identity Source Users will be automatically created upon first sign in.

To create a User:

  1. Navigate to either Administration -> Users or `Administration -> Tenants -> Select a Tenant.

  2. Select + CREATE USER.

  3. From the New User Wizard input:

    Username & Email
    • First Name
    • Last Name
    • Username
    • Email address
    Receive Notifications

    Enable to receive Provisioning and Policy email notifications.

    Roles

    Role(s) to be inherited by the user. If multiple roles are selected, the higher permission levels of one role will override the other role(s).

    Password

    Password must contain at least one uppercase letter, one lowercase letter, a number, and a symbol.

    Enabled

    If unchecked, the user will no longer be able to sign into Morpheus, but their user data will remain.

    Password Expired

    If enabled, the User will be forced to create a new password upon next login. The expired password cannot be used again.

    Linux Settings

    Creates a User with the supplied Username, Password and/or Key-pair on Linux Instances when “Create my User” is selected during provisioning, or a User Group is added to an Instance of which this Morpheus user is a member of.

    Windows Settings

    Creates a User with the supplied Username, Password and/or Key-pair on Windows Instances when “Create my User” is selected during provisioning, or a User Group is added to an Instance of which this Morpheus user is a member of.

    Important

    Please ensure password entered is allowable by Windows.

    Limits

    Combined Instance Resource Limits for the User. When a limit is reached, the User will not be able to provision more Instances

    • STORAGE
      • Total amount of Storage the user can Provision, set in GiB. 0.0 is unlimited.
    • MEMORY
      • Total amount of RAM the user can Provision, set in MiB. 0.0 is unlimited.
    • CPU COUNT
      • Total combined Cores the user can Provision. 0 is unlimited.
  4. Select SAVE CHANGES.

Edit User

User settings can be edited from Administration -> Users, Administration -> Tenants -> Select a Tenant -> Users tab, or from User Settings.

Note

Some User data from Users created via an Identity Source Integration such as Active Directory is not editable in Morpheus, as it is synced with the Identity Source.

To edit a User from the Administration -> Users Section:

  1. Select the Administration link in the navigation bar.
  2. Select the Users link in the sub navigation bar.
  3. Click ACTIONS on the row of the user to edit.
  4. Select EDIT in the ACTIONS dropdown.
  5. Make changes.
  6. Select SAVE CHANGES.

To edit a User from the Administration -> Tenants -> Select a Tenant -> Users tab:

  1. Select the Administration link in the navigation bar.
  2. Select the Tenants link in the sub navigation bar.
  3. Select a Tenant
  4. Click ACTIONS on the row of the user to edit.
  5. Select EDIT in the ACTIONS dropdown.
  6. Make changes.
  7. Select SAVE CHANGES.

User Settings

Additional settings for a User can be found in the User Settings section, including:

  • User Photo
  • Default Group
  • Default Cloud
  • API Access

To access User Settings:

  1. Select your name in the very top right of the browser window.
  2. Select User Settings

To edit the User you are currently logged in as from User Settings:

  1. Select your name in the very top right of the window
  2. Select User Settings
  3. Make changes.
  4. Select SAVE.

API Access

API and CLI Access Tokens can be regenerated from the User Settings section.

To regenerate a CLI or API Access Token:

  1. Select your name in the very top right of the window.

  2. Select User Settings.

  3. Select API ACCESS under the Windows Settings section.

  4. Select ACTIONS for the Client ID the token will be generated for.

  5. Select Regenerate.

  6. Copy the Generated Access Token.

    Important

    The Access Token will be masked after User Setting are saved.

  7. Select SAVE.

Delete User

To delete a User from the Administration -> Users Section:

#. Select the Administration link in the navigation bar.
#. Select the Users link in the sub navigation bar.
#. Select **ACTIONS** on the row of the user to delete.
#. Select **REMOVE** in the ACTIONS dropdown.
#. Confirm

To delete a User from the Administration -> Tenants -> Select a Tenant -> Users tab:

  1. Select the Administration link in the navigation bar.
  2. Select the Tenants link in the sub navigation bar.
  3. Select a Tenant
  4. Click ACTIONS on the row of the user to delete.
  5. Select REMOVE in the ACTIONS dropdown.
  6. Confirm

User Groups

Overview

User Groups can be selected during provisioning to add each group members credentials to the Instance. User Groups can be configured for sudo access and in Linux will assign Group members to a groupId in linux.

Creating User Groups

  1. Navigate to Administration -> Users

  2. Select the USER GROUPS tab.

  3. Select + CREATE USER GROUP.

  4. Enter the following:

    NAME

    Name of the User Group

    DESCRIPTION

    Optional User Group Description

    SERVER GROUP

    Name of the groupId to assign Group members to in linux.

    SUDO ACCESS

    Enable to give Group members sudo access

    USERS

    Search for and select existing Users to add to the User Group.

  5. Select SAVE CHANGES.

Editing User Groups

  1. Navigate to Administration -> Users
  2. Select the USER GROUPS tab.
  3. Select the ACTIONS dropdown next to the target User Group.
  4. Select EDIT
  5. Make changes, add or remove users from the group.
  6. Select SAVE CHANGES.

Adding a User Group when Provisioning

  1. When provisioning, in the CONFIG section expand the USER section.
  2. Select an existing Group from the USER GROUP dropdown.
  3. Users will be created for members in the selected User Group on the provisioned Instance(s).