Dell ECS

Overview

Morpheus integrates with DELL EMC ECS via the ECS api. This allows Morpheus to talk directly to the ECS services.

When you add a ECS Server, Morpheus will sync in the following.

  • Storage Groups
  • Buckets
  • File shares

Users will be able to create the following times within ECS without direct access to the ECS console.

  • Buckets
  • File shares

Storage Servers

The first step in the Dell EMC ECS integration is to add a Dell EMC ECS Storage Server. Once added, Buckets, Files Shares and Storage Groups will be synced in and can be access and managed in Morpheus.

Adding Dell EMC ECS Storage Server

  1. Select the Infrastructure link in the navigation bar.

  2. Select the Storage link in the sub navigation bar.

  3. In the SERVERS tab, Click the + ADD button.

  4. From the ADD STORAGE SERVER wizard input the following:

    NAME

    Name of the Storage Server in Morpheus

    TYPE

    Select Dell EMC ECS

    URL

    URL Of DELL EMC ECS Server Example : https://192.168.190.200:4443

    Tip

    The port 4443 is the api port for ECS api. This may be different depending on your configuration

    USERNAME

    Add your administrative user account.

    PASSWORD

    Add your administrative password.

    S3 SERVICE URL (Optional)

    Add your S3 service url Example: http://192.168.190.220:9020

    Note

    S3 SERVICE URL is not required if you are not planning on using ECS S3.

  5. Select SAVE CHANGES

The Dell EMC ECS Storage Server will be added and displayed in the Buckets tab.

Buckets, Files Shares and Storage Groups will be synced in.

Buckets

  • Buckets will be listed in Infrastructure - Storage - Buckets
    • Buckets can be created and deleted with Infrastructure - Storage Role Permissions
    • Buckets can be browsed with Infrastructure: Storage Browser Role permissions
    • File and folders can be uploaded, downloaded and deleted with Full Infrastructure: Storage Browser Role permissions.

Adding Dell EMC ECS Buckets

Note

A Dell ECS Storage Server must be configured in Infrastructure - Storage - Servers prior to adding a Dell ECS Bucket.

To Add a Dell ECS Storage Bucket:

  1. Select the Infrastructure link in the navigation bar.

  2. Select the Storage link in the sub navigation bar.

  3. In the BUCKETS tab, Click the + ADD button.

  4. Select Dell EMC ECS Bucket from the dropdown list

  5. From the NEW BUCKET Wizard input the following:

    NAME

    Name of the Bucket in Morpheus.

    STORAGE SERVICE

    Select existing Dell EMC ECS Storage Server (configured in Infrastructure - Storage - Servers)

    BUCKET NAME

    Enter a name for the new Dell ECS bucket.

    USER

    Your Dell EMC ECS S3 user account

    SECRET KEY
    Your Dell EMC ECS S3 Secret

    Example: jW+pFyAPtSS5FuEqKwt44xlpM/2

    NAMESPACE

    Select Dell EMC ECS Namespace for the Bucket

    STORAGE GROUP

    Select a Dell EMC ECS Storage Group

    Default Backup Target

    Sets this bucket as the default backup target when creating Backups. If selected the option to update existing Backup configuration to use this Bucket will be presented.

    Archive Snapshots

    Enabled to export VM snapshots to this Bucket when creating VMware Backups, after which the snapshot will be removed from the target hypervisor.

    Default Deployment Archive Target

    Sets this Bucket as the default storage target when uploading Deployment files in the Deployments section.

    Default Virtual Image Store

    Sets this bucket as the default storage target when uploading Virtual Images from the Virtual Images section, importing Images from Instance Actions, creating Images with the Image Builder and when creating new images from Migrations.

    RETENTION POLICY
    None

    Files in the Bucket will not be automatically deleted or backed up.

    Backup Old Files
    This option will backup files after a set amount if time and remove them from the bucket.
    DAYS OLD

    Files older than the set number of days will be automatically backed up to the selected Backup Bucket.

    BACKUP BUCKET

    Search for and select the Bucket the files will be backed up to.

    DELETE OLD FILES
    This option will delete files from this bucket after a set amount of days.
    DAYS OLD

    Files older than the set number of days will be automatically deleted from the Bucket.

  6. Select SAVE CHANGES

The Bucket will be created and displayed in the Buckets tab.

  • To browse, upload, download, or delete files from this Bucket, select the name of the Bucket.

  • To edit the Bucket, select the edit icon or select the name of the Bucket and select ACTIONS - EDIT.

    Warning

    Repointing a bucket that is in use may cause loss of file references. Ensure data is mirrored first.

  • To delete a Bucket, select the trash icon or select the name of the Bucket and select DELETE.

    Warning

    When deleting a Bucket, all Deployment Versions and Backups associated with the Bucket will be deleted.

Add Dell EMC ECS File Shares

To Add a Dell EMC ECS File Share:

  1. Select the Infrastructure link in the navigation bar.

  2. Select the Storage link in the sub navigation bar.

  3. In the FILE SHARES tab, Click the + ADD button.

  4. Select Dell EMC ECS Share from the dropdown list

  5. From the NEW FILE SHARE Wizard input the following:

    NAME

    Name of the File Share in Morpheus.

    STORAGE SERVICE

    Select existing Dell EMC ECS Storage Server (configured in Infrastructure - Storage - Servers)

    SHARE PATH
    Enter Dell EMC ECS Share Path

    Example: ecs-file-share-1

    USER

    Dell EMC ECS User

    SECRET KEY

    Dell EMC ECS Secret key

    Volume Size

    Specify volume size for the File Share (in MB)

    Allowed IP’s
    Specify IP Addresses to limit accessibility to the File Share
    Leave blank for open access

    Click the + symbol to the right of the first ALLOWED IPS field to add multiple IP’s

    NAMESPACE

    Select Dell EMC ECS Namespace (synced)

    STORAGE GROUP

    Select Dell EMC ECS Storage Group (synced)

    Default Backup Target

    Sets this File Share as the default backup target when creating Backups. If selected the option to update existing Backup configuration to use this File Share will be presented.

    Archive Snapshots

    Enabled to export VM snapshots to this File Share when creating VMware Backups, after which the snapshot will be removed from the source Cloud.

    Default Deployment Archive Target

    Sets this File Share as the default storage target when uploading Deployment files in the Deployments section.

    Default Virtual Image Store

    Sets this File Share as the default storage target when uploading Virtual Images from the Virtual Images section, importing Images from Instance Actions, creating Images with the Image Builder and when creating new images from Migrations.

    RETENTION POLICY
    None

    Files in the File Share will not be automatically deleted or backed up.

    Backup Old Files
    This option will backup files after a set amount if time and remove them from the File Share.
    DAYS OLD

    Files older than the set number of days will be automatically backed up to the selected Backup File Share.

    BACKUP File Share

    Search for and select the File Share the files will be backed up to.

    DELETE OLD FILES
    This option will delete files from this File Share after a set amount of days.
    DAYS OLD

    Files older than the set number of days will be automatically deleted from the File Share.

  6. Select SAVE CHANGES

The File Share will be created and displayed in the File Shares tab.

  • To browse, upload, download, or delete files from this File Share, select the name of the File Share.

  • To edit the File Share, select the edit icon or select the name of the File Share and select ACTIONS - EDIT.

    Warning

    Repointing a File Share that is in use may cause loss of file references. Ensure data is mirrored first.

  • To delete a File Share, select the trash icon or select the name of the File Share and select DELETE.

    Warning

    When deleting a File Share, all Deployment Versions and Backups associated with the File Share will be deleted.